Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking – International

Download International Course Guide
Course Code ICT40418
Course Title Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking
CRICOS Code 099861C
Duration 52 weeks (including 12 weeks of holidays)
Main Intake Dates

February, April, July, October

Location CBD Campus – 400 Queen Street, Melbourne

Program Overview

ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to install and manage small scale networks, either as an independent network support technician or as part of a team.

Program Structure


Assessment methods may include:

  • Knowledge questions
  • Simulated Hands-on Projects
  • Research and Report/Assignment writing
  • Case studies/Simulated scenarios
  • Practical Demonstration

Units of Competency

The ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking requires 17 units of competency:

Core Units

BSBWHS304 – Participate effectively in WHS communication and consultation processes
ICTICT401 – Determine and confirm client business requirements
ICTICT418 – Contribute to copyright, ethics and privacy in an ICT environment
ICTNWK401 – Install and manage a server
ICTNWK402 – Install and configure virtual machines for sustainable ICT
ICTNWK403 – Manage network and data integrity
ICTNWK404 – Install, operate and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network
ICTTEN416 – Install, configure and test an internet protocol network

Elective Units

ICTNWK411 – Deploy software to networked computers
ICTNWK406 – Install, configure and test networking security
ICTTEN417 – Install, configure and test a router
ICTSAS426 – Locate and troubleshoot ICT equipment, system and software faults
ICTNWK410 – Install hardware to a network
ICTPRG425 – Use structured query language
ICTTEN513 – Install, configure and test a local area networking switch
ICTNWK409 – Create scripts for networking
ICTPMG401 – Support small scale ICT projects

Credit Transfer and RPL offered: Recognition of prior learning and skills assessment


Entry Requirements

Students must satisfy the following Age, English
and Academic requirements:

  • Age: must be 18 years or over
  • English Proficiency Level: an IELTS Band 5.5 or equivalent OR undertake a TMG English language test.
  • Academic: Successful completion of Year 11 or its equivalent.



The further study pathways available to learners who undertake this qualification include:

  • ICT50418 Diploma of Information Technology Networking, or a range of other ICT Diploma qualifications.

Your Career

The following employment pathways are available to learners who complete this qualification:

  • Help desk Officer
  • Network operations support/technician
  • Computer network technician


Course Fee


Other Fees Estimated Fees
Material Fee $200